Is Catalonia a country?

Is Catalonia a country?

No. Catalonia is an autonomous community in the country and kingdom of Spain.

Catalonia defines itself as a nation in its own Statute of Autonomy - Estatut d’Autonomia de Catalunya. Catalonia's autonomous community has four provinces: Barcelona, Girona, Lleida, and Tarragona. In Catalan language it is called Catalunya. In Spanish language it is called Cataluña.

A Spanish autonomous community (comunidad autónoma) is a political and administrative division, created by the Spanish constitution of 1978 to guaranteeing limited autonomy of 17 Spanish regions. The Spanish Constitution is the democratic law that is supreme, so the higest law, in the Spain.

The Spanish constiution was enacted after approval in a constitutional referendum by the inhabitants of Spain in all regions in 1978. In the Catalonia region of Spain 67% of the eligible voters voted in favour of the Spanish constituion with a result of 95.15%

© Copyright
Do not copy from this page without permission. 
All rights reserved