Biography Carlos Ruiz Zafón - author

Biography Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Carlos Ruiz Zafón (September 25, 1964 – June 19, 2020) was a Spanish novelist known for his popular and internationally acclaimed works of fiction. He was born in Barcelona, Spain.

Zafón's career as a writer began at a young age, and he published his first novel, "The Prince of Mist," for young adults in 1993. However, he is best known for his adult fiction, particularly for his series of novels known as the "Cemetery of Forgotten Books" series. The first book in this series, "The Shadow of the Wind" (Spanish: "La Sombra del Viento"), was published in 2001 and became a literary sensation. It was a historical mystery set in post-war Barcelona, exploring themes of love, loss, and the power of literature.

Zafón's other novels in the series, including "The Angel's Game" and "The Prisoner of Heaven," were also well-received and added to his international literary acclaim.

Throughout his career, Carlos Ruiz Zafón's works were translated into numerous languages, making him one of the most widely read Spanish authors of his generation. His writing often blended elements of mystery, historical fiction, and gothic storytelling, which resonated with a broad readership.

Carlos Ruiz Zafón passed away on June 19, 2020, in Los Angeles, California, leaving behind a significant body of work that continues to captivate readers around the world. His novels remain an enduring part of contemporary Spanish literature.

Related pages 

Books set in Barcelona
Famous people Barcelona

© Copyright
Do not copy from this page without permission.
All rights reserved

Last Updated on Friday, 19 January 2024 11:27