What is the Schengen Zone?

What is the Schengen Zone?

Updated March 2023

The Schengen zone is an area in Europe comprising of 26 countries that have abolished passport and other types of border control at their mutual borders. This means that once a person enters the Schengen zone through a member country, they can travel freely across the zone without further border checks.

The Schengen zone promotes free movement of people and goods, and includes countries such as France, Germany, Spain, Italy, and many others. However, non-European Union countries such as Norway, Switzerland, and Iceland are also part of the Schengen zone.

The 27 Schengen countries are:

  1. Austria
  2. Belgium
  3. Czech Republic
  4. Croatia
  5. Denmark
  6. Estonia
  7. Finland
  8. France
  9. Germany
  10. Greece
  11. Hungary
  12. Iceland
  13. Italy
  14. Latvia
  15. Liechtenstein
  16. Lithuania
  17. Luxembourg
  18. Malta
  19. Netherlands
  20. Norway
  21. Poland
  22. Portugal
  23. Slovakia
  24. Slovenia
  25. Spain
  26. Sweden
  27. Switzerland
More information about Schengen visa on the Schengen zone webpage

Day Tour to Andorra from Barcelona
Snow Day tour Andorra (winter only)

© Copyright Barcelonayellow.com
Do not copy from this page without permission. 
All rights reserved

Last Updated on Thursday, 25 May 2023 21:10