Maps of Spain

Maps of Spain

Spain is officially called the Kingdom of Spain which in Spanish langauge is Reino de España.

Spain is a sovereign state mostly located on the Iberian Peninsula in southwestern Europe.

Spain has two large archipelagos, the Balearic Islands in the Mediterranean Sea and the Canary Islands off the North African Atlantic coast.

Spain also has two cities Ceuta and Melilla in the North African mainland and several small islands in the Alboran Sea near the Moroccan coast.

The Spanish mainland on the penisular is bordered to the south and east by the Mediterranean Sea except for a small land boundary with Gibraltar.

The Spanish borders to the north and northeast are with France, Andorra, and the Bay of Biscay; and to the west and northwest by Portugal and the Atlantic Ocean.

Spain is the only European country to have a border with an African country which is Morocco. Spain's African territory accounts for nearly 5% of its population, mostly in the Canary Islands but also in Ceuta and Melilla.

Spain has an area of 505,990 km2 (195,360 sq mi) awhich makes Spain the largest country in Southern Europe, the second largest country in Western Europe and the European Union, and the fourth largest country in the European continent.

In terms of population, Spain is the sixth largest in Europe and the fifth in the European Union, after Italy.

Spain's capital and largest city is Madrid, other major urban areas include Barcelona, Valencia, Seville, Bilbao and Málaga.

Maps of Spain

© Copyright
Do not copy from this page without permission
All rights reserved

Last Updated on Friday, 20 January 2017 12:51
Related articles: